Leave a comment

Sugar Free Week 3 and Paleo Sweet Potato Bread

20140321-131613.jpg

I’m into week 3 of my Sugar Free Experience, and surprisingly surviving! I won’t lie, the first 2 weeks were crappy, great, crappy, and great again!

I’ve noticed cravings slowly disappear. I see a bottle of cold water in the supermarket and want it! I’m drinking around 2-3 litres of water a day, I would struggle drinking 1 litre prior to this experiment, but could easily drink 1 litre of Coke daily. I attended a Raw Food Festival which normally I would have scoffed at! And my child actually said, ‘Mum, can I have the last piece of raw cacao tart!’.

If anything the boundless energy I have is ridiculous but very welcoming – with 4 kids I need to be on my game! As the weeks have progressed I’m definitely eating less and less. And if I snack it’s nuts and yoghurt. The hardest part of the 8 weeks is no fruit! However, I have a handful of berries in my morning smoothies which I think is ok, if not, well too bad! When the sugar craving kicks in, mainly in the evening I eat cheese, lots of cheese and it does help.

Lastly I’ve definitely lost weight! An added perk to not eating sugar! My local Barista said to me one morning, ‘wow, you look great!’ and then proceeded to give me 2 free meringues! Oh the irony šŸ™‚

Sugar Free Paleo Sweet Potato Bread
Adapted here http://www.thehealthychef.com/2012/07/paleo-pumpkin-bread-2/

450 g (15.8 oz/ 3 cups) grated raw sweet potato
4 whole organic or free-range eggs
1/2 tsp sea salt
pinch nutmeg
pinch cinnamon
1/4 cup (60 ml/ 2 fl oz)) olive or macadamia nut or cold pressed coconut oil
2 teaspoons gluten free baking powder
3 cups (300g/ 10 1/2 oz) fine almond meal
1 tablespoon rice malt syrup (optional )
pumpkin and pepita seeds to sprinkle on top (optional)

Preheat Oven 150/160 degrees fan forced/ 180 degrees no fan
Line a loaf tin with baking paper –
1. In a bowl combine all the ingredients Except Almond Meal and baking powder. Give it a good mix and stir.
2. Slowly add the Almond meal and baking powder – Mix well
3. Pour into loaf tin and sprinkle pumpkin and pepita seeds on top
Bake for 1.5 hours but check after 1 hour. It’s a heavy beautiful loaf!! Remove it from the oven and let it rest for 1hour and cool before you take it out.

20140321-131653.jpg

20140321-131733.jpg

Leave a Reply

