1 Comment

The Sugar Free Experience

20140310-113359.jpg

Ms Skinny Booty Bakes

I’m currently embarking on a sugar free 8 weeks!! What! No! Huh? Why?!! Hi, my name is Izzy and I have a sugar addiction.
I’ve known this for a while, many years in fact. I’ve always pushed it aside, let it lovingly overpower me. When I was younger it was easier to handle, I could eat whatever, burn it all off, and feel fine. Now in my late thirties (well, not too late) the cravings are harder to stop, pregnancy was an excuse to fulfil that craving…and well, I’ve been pregnant 4 times so go figure!!!

I’ve always walked past Sarah Wilson’s book, ‘I Quit Sugar’ but have never had the strength to peruse it! So I slowly started making raw chocolates and energy balls which opened up a whole new dimension of baking and cooking I never really considered.
So to make my long story short, I’m giving up sugar for 8 weeks and following Sarah’s program. My first week has come to an end, and reflecting back it was a good week. The first 2 days were hard with sugar withdrawals, and I went cold turkey on the Coke Zero! She states you need 8 weeks to realign your body, and withdraw from sugar. After this time you can slowly introduce sugar ie fruits etc but you may loose the craving altogether, if not, you finish the weeks being a more informed consumer, which for me is priceless!!

So bare with me, a few more weeks of sugar free and low sugar recipes!!

Peace Ms Skinny Booty Bakes

Wholemeal Spelt Hot Cross Buns

**Adapted from The Complete Book of Baking, New Holland**

375ml Milk
60g butter
560g Wholemeal Spelt Flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cardamom
1tsp crushed cloves
4 star anise crushed
1 tsp salt
6 Tbsp of rice malt syrup
10g instant dry yeast
**i wish I added raw cacao nibs, but I didn’t ** if you are thinking about it I’d put approx 150g
1 egg beaten

Flour Paste for Crosses
75g Wholemeal flour or any flour you on hand
5 Tbsp of water
2 tsp sugar ( I used Stevia for ‘no sugar’ recipe)

For Glaze
2tbsp milk
2tbsp sugar ( stevia)

In a small saucepan heat milk, rice malt syrup and butter together, then slightly cool
Sift flour and spices and add cacao nibs. Add salt to one end of the bowl and dry yeast to other, as sometimes the salt can inhibit the yeast and effect the rise of the dough.
Pour slowly the egg and milk mixture into dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon in a clockwise direction until it forms a rustic looking dough ball.
Once ball has formed take out of bowl and knead on a lightly floured surface. Knead for approx 10 minutes until smooth.
Cover and leave in a warm place for about 1 hour until it has doubled in size
(I actually did a slow rise – I placed plastic wrap on it and put it in the fridge overnight for breakie the next day)
Once dough has doubled in size knead again for a few minutes until smooth
Divide into 8 medium sized balls and place on baking paper quite close together, and put on a baking sheet. Cover and leave for 10 minutes in a warm place, or until buns have risen

For Crosses
Mix flour and sugar together and add enough water to form a smooth paste
Place the paste in a zip lock bag, snip the end and make crosses on the buns alternatively you can place in a piping bag with a small round tip and pipe crosses.

Bake in a preheated oven at 190c /375F for 15-20 minutes

For Glaze
Heat milk and sugar without boiling. Turn buns on a wire rack and brush with hot glaze.

20140310-113428.jpg

20140310-113449.jpg

One comment on “The Sugar Free Experience

  1. Good Luck. Cant wait to read about the results!

Leave a Reply

