2 Comments

Pushing my Personal Cooking Limits: EATING SQUEAMISH FOODS

20130915-143235.jpg

Some people have personal goals of running a marathon or loosing weight, well mine is related to food.

1. Cook foods out of my comfort zone
2. Eat foods out off my comfort zone

It’s something that has been playing on my mind for quite some time now. And to tell you the truth, scares the living daylights out of me! I don’t eat seafood yet I was born on a tropical island in the middle of the South Pacific, a place surrounded with fresh seafood everyday!! I don’t eat Game Meats (incl Duck) so that rules out all the French restaurants I want to try. I’m not into bodily parts food ie brains, intestines, kidneys…that maybe due to Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom scarring me as a child.

And yet I have this burning desire to cook these foods!!!

So…..I have bought all the Larousse Gastronomique Books, which is the world’s most famous culinary reference book. I bought Desserts, Cakes and Pastries (easy!), Vegetables and Salads (easy), Meat, Poultry and Game (not sure about the Game chapter!) and lastly Fish and Seafood (Not sure about the whole book!).

I just turned to the Crab section and it states:
To Prepare:
Kill a Live Crab, stab it several times with a sharp metal skewer into the underside directly behind the eyes or centrally under the tail flap. WTF!
It then states, if in doubt about the HUMANE Method, consult a fishmonger!!!!!!
Oh my I think I’m going to pass out……….I’m from the Islands and I feel like a real Sell Out.

I’ll let you know how I go….I may start on the Desserts, Cakes and Pastries Edition first 🙂
Does anyone else have these food issues? or any tips for cooking the really really squeamish foods???

20130915-143423.jpg

20130915-143619.jpg

20130915-144138.jpg

2 comments on “Pushing my Personal Cooking Limits: EATING SQUEAMISH FOODS

  1. i don’t do organs either. Cook or eat, & i have NO desire to change that. Otherwise i’m good with all the rest. Don’t worry, seafood is very easy. I also have a goals list, i thought i was the only nerd 😉 I need to get a grip on roasting large cuts of meat. They all always scare me with respect to drying out. Good luck on your adventures 😉 Happy Sunday

Leave a Reply

